I’m a Recruiter…What’s your superpower

You are probably on your commute to work, travelling home, coffee in hand, ready to hit your desks or hit the hay!

So what made you click on this particular blog? You are obviously interested in the subject title of this blog. That’s good, so am I.

Who is she? Where did you find her?

Let me give you a basic snapshot. My name is Ros Milton and I currently work for the REC (The Recruitment and Employment Confederation) and have done for the best part of a decade.

I have also been a recruiter for my sins. But RR recruitment, no, not REC2REC but rolodex recruitment! Yes that’s right, no Monster and no LinkedIn.

rolodex-rotary-business-card-file-67236

The REC supports its recruitment business members to be ethical and compliant when recruiting for businesses. That’s it in a nut shell. There’s is so much more but too much list here today.

Even more importantly, within the REC, I work with the Institute of Recruitment Professionals or IRP (you know the old ‘FREC’). The IRP professional body has over 8,000  individual members within the recruitment space. The IRP supports anyone working within recruitment to be ethical, respectful and compliant in their recruitment practices.

Over the last decade I have spoken to the most amazing recruiters. And you really, truly, are amazing.

Every single one of you has told me, without exemption, that you fell into recruitment. Which gives the impression that recruitment is some sort of removed manhole cover!

manhole-12149458

And, luckily for us, you discovered your true passion. Our Fellows (or FIRP’s) have been grafting in recruitment for the past 15 yrs + and probably survived at least 2 recessions. I always describe our Fellow’s as the recruitment industries greatest love story. They fell into it, fell in love and are committed.

Despite the pay check that people assume a recruiters gets. All our AIRP, MIRP, & FIRP recruiters have a true passion to transform peoples lives. Here’s some of them talking about their passion in the REC’s campaign #jobstransformlives https://youtu.be/J2B0W4ZXfHU. Every recruiter I deal with gets a real buzz changing somebodies life for the better.

I remember recruiting a temporary worker in the late 90’s whom was suffering from a long term illness and thought she’d never get work. I had a great relationship with the Director of one of the local printing firms. I managed to place her, nothing fancy, just a data entry role with the flexibility to have time off for her treatment.

I will NEVER forget how thankful she was to me. This wasn’t just a job to her it was something she could be positive about and feel useful. Going to work meant for her that she wasn’t defined by her illness and that she could just be herself for a day.

fsdfsd.PNG

So… here’s your call to action for today…I would like to spread a bit of positivity about recruiters within recruitment.

If you could re-tweet any the following, share this blog or comment with a positive placement story I would really appreciate it. Or just click like!

https://twitter.com/RosMiltonREC/status/775683492290105344

https://twitter.com/RosMiltonREC/status/770874619314176000

https://twitter.com/RosMiltonREC/status/775683492290105344

https://twitter.com/RosMiltonREC/status/775685721466212352

If you are interested in joining IRP for yourself or your staff you can contact me at Rosalind.Milton@rec.uk.com  Sorry for the #shamelessplug girls gotta eat! Plus I have 2 kids to feed. #JOKES

Thank you for your attention

Have a great day!

mOJv524F.jpg

Leave a comment