The day I passed my CertRP

Let me take you back a few years.

In 1997, I walked into my careers advisors office and I sit down. She looks at me over the top of her glasses and says…

“So, what sort of career are you looking for”

I was only 17, I had no experience in the world of work whatsoever. Well, apart from 1 weeks work experience in a nursing home. I was hardly ready or equipped to answer that question.

To much pressure is put on people to ‘pick a job’ at such a young age. The focus should be on working skills and not just “the job”

Anyway, I shrugged and said “maybe a red coat rep or something? I figured that I enjoyed drama and it was the only job I could think of that looked fun! That’s really important to remember. I was looking for a job I would enjoy.

So my careers advisor planned the next 5 years of my life. She recommended I take the GNVQ in Leisure in Tourism. It was a mistake. I left that course after the 1st year.

Then I made my second mistake. I signed up to all the courses my “friends” where on. 4 years of college and the only thing I came out with was an horrendous self esteem issue when doing anything academic. I felt I had failed the school when looking back perhaps the system had failed me.

So fast forward many years later. I am more confident, with plenty of work experience and perhaps a little wiser. I find myself working for the Recruitment and Employment Confederation. I join in 2009 the same week as my manager then and now Head of Qualifications Richard Charnock.

Richard had been chipping away at me for sometime to take the Certificate in Recruitment Practice. The REC believes it’s important the Account Managers take the qualification.  As not only do we have to promote it but it puts us in the recruiters shoes and we gain a better understanding of the industry.

I gave in and signed up. As the exam drew nearer I was so nervous despite having been in recruitment before. I genuinely thought I was too stupid to pass an exam. Richard reassured me and I gave it my best shot.

The day I passed my Certificate in Recruitment Practice Cert RP I will never forget. I was able to finally silence the negative inner voice I’d carried with me for over 6 years. I’m not stupid.

Once that barrier had been broken I signed up to the Diploma in Recruitment Management straight away. Passing the Certificate was very empowering for me.  I have now completed 4 modules in and even achieved a distinction in one.

I tell recruiters all the time I WISH I had completed my qualification years ago when I was in recruitment. I have been promoted twice since taking it. I truly believe getting an education in your industry can open so many doors for you. Even if you didn’t get it right the first time round, being a student is something you should always be.

It gives an added value for your clients and an added confidence in what you are doing.

Here are some quotes from recruiters who have passed their CertRP exams…

It was very well put together, easy to follow and you are helped every step of the way by a remote tutor. At the time it taught me a great deal and I know from my team that it’s an even more informative and better process now than it was when I took it.

I did my Cert RP (now the Dip RP) way back in 2001 and can honestly say it was one of the best choices I ever made – it was a real turning point for me in my career and gave me so much knowledge and credibility with candidates and clients – especially the legal and compliance side – Recruitment is a career that delivers financial reward, and on top of that it allows you to change people’s lives, work as strategic talent acquisition partners for your clients, and help to make UK plc competitive in the global market. Not bad, eh?! –

I studied for my qualification in 2004. I really enjoyed the remote learning and studying and was thrilled when I got my certificate to say I passed. I have been proudly displaying ‘my letters’ ever since, wherever possible. They’ve got even longer since I passed my ten years of recruitment service, gaining a ‘FIRP’!

If you want to know more about the qualifications click on the the Institute of Recruitment Professionals Qualifications pages.

Good Luck!

 

 

 

Leave a comment